Skip Navigation

Scout Archives

Home Projects Publications Archives About Sign Up or Log In

Browse Resources

Arctic regions -- Politics and government


Arctic Council

Formed in 1996, the Arctic Council represents a unique forum for cooperation between eight national governments and the indigenous peoples of the region. The member states of the Council include Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden, and the United States, along with six representatives that speak on behalf of various indigenous groups. Most of the Council's...